Our Curriculum

  • At Oakfield, we follow the well-recognised British EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) curriculum that promotes a natural and stimulating environment to allow children time to explore the world around them at their own pace.  The EYFS approach to day care aims to include the best practices from both private and government initiatives, promoting teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’.

    We aim to achieve a sensible balance between free play and structured activities to meet the needs of all children and to encourage language, confidence and independence.

    The Seven Learning Areas identified in the EYFS Curriculum are:

    Prime Areas

    1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
    2. Communication and Language
    3. Physical Development

    Specific Areas

    1. Literacy
    2. Mathematics
    3. Understanding the World
    4. Expressive Arts and Design

    These are the seven areas that are used to plan your child’s learning and development with Oakfield Early Learning Centre. We ensure that all the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. Children learn by playing and exploring, and being active.

    They develop key skills such as creative and critical thinking, the ability to express themselves, work with others, and learn and understand.